And we’re off….

I’ve been sat here at the Marsden for a while now as the whole transplant process begins today. Nick dropped me off at 8.30am for what is likely to be a pretty long day. I’ve already had an ECG which I presume was fine as they have now hooked me up to 2 hours of fluids. I believe that’s to help stop some of the side effects. Apparently I have to drink 3litres of fluid a day too….though to be honest I’m supposed to do that anyway.

Once the fluids have finished it’s a cocktail of anti-emetics to prevent sickness and then 2 hours of cyclophosphamide which is the chemo. Hopefully after that I can leave as we’ve got to drive down to north Devon…hopefully with me feeling ok!!!

I’m not too worried about it all….yet!! Although I did speak to another myeloma friend yesterday who warned me that her hair had just fallen out-2 weeks after what I’m having today. Fingers crossed it won’t happen to me till 2 weeks after the chemo on the 18th. But what will be will be and hopefully I’ll buy my wig in the next 2 weeks anyway.

Still having problems with my neuropathy and the tremadol they gave me the other day doesn’t seem to be working as effectively. I’ve just spoken to one of the doctors and they’re referring me to the pain clinic/team as apparently it’s likely to go on for at least a few months 😦 In the meantime they’re giving me an even stronger version of morphine!!

Right I’m going to try to have a kip now…didn’t sleep at all last night with the neuropathy and worrying the kids were going to wake up in my sisters house.

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we’re off….

  1. feresaknit says:

    My hair thinned very slightly at the temples. I think it grows so slowly it didn’t get the message. What do you mean ‘supposed’ to drink three litres – mmm? And I don’t mean to be a glum bum but I felt fine until 2AM when I woke up and threw up on the way to the bathroom. Since B works nights it was all me with the clearing up, actually saying that if B had been home he would probably have pulled the duvet over his head and pretended he was dreaming. ;D Oh, and what about gabapentin for neuropathy – I have come across this a lot recently and not just for myeloma/drug induced problems. Best of British.

    Like

What are you thinking?

