Land of the Living

I know to most people, this only seems like a day, but to me, the last 48 hours have seemed like an eternity. After my post yesterday, things got worse, and I spent the whole day in bed after a teary start where I admitted to Nick that there wasn’t a chance of me making it out. Wollacombe was left to Nick and the kids and they came back with stories of rock pools, beaches and ice-creams. And I had stories of crying, more crying and more crying. We were very close to packing up and going home so that at least I could cry in my own bed!!!

But I am now back in the land of the living, and have actually had a nice day today. In fact, Nick would describe it as a ‘miraculous recovery’….hope that doesn’t mean he doesn’t think I was really ill!!!!! But strangely, given that I woke at 2am this morning and haven’t been back to bed since, I feel remarkably good. So good that today, I have;

1. Been into a local market town shopping with Nick and the kids

2. Come home and done pottery painting for 2 hours

3. Made lunch for the family

4. Made dinner for the family and cleared up

5. Made it past 9pm without thinking of bed for 2 hours previously!

Now, I know to most of you those things sound small, but when you’ve spent 2 days feeling like  you can barely stagger from one place to another, they’re big. Even Rebecca said to me today

Rebecca: ‘ mummy you’re less poorly now aren’t you?’

Me: ‘Yes, how can you tell that?’

Rebecca: ‘Because you’re not being lazy and lying around all day’

Don’t you just love it!!! If I wasn’t so chuffed, I would have burst into tears!!!

 

 

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Land of the Living

  1. Irene Foster says:

    We are so please you are getting back to normal ??? in a month time you will be there just like the old Deb . I do not mean you are old Ha Ha Love Irene & Andy xxxxxx

    Like

What are you thinking?

