Day 5 – The only way is up!

Well up but perhaps a tiny way down first!! My White blood count is now 0.2, having dropped from 2.3 overnight. Now it has to go zero before they officially say I’ve reached rock bottom but the general feeling is that I will have dropped to that over the course of today. It all explain why I’ve felt totally wiped out today with no energy to even watch tv! Poor nick doesn’t know what to do with himself when I’m like this as I can’t even stand the noise of the tv.

So, from what I can get out of them today, I am likely to stay at this level for 4 or so days. The key thing in this period is to try not to pick up an infection. If I manage that, apparently once my levels rise above 1 and my ‘neutrophil’ level is around 0.5, they would start to talk about when I can come home.
It is so hard not to jump ahead here. I keep thinking I’ll be the one off scenario where my counts will rise straight away (surely with the number of people praying for me that I have, it is a possibility.!). I can’t help but wonder if I could be out of here by next weekend. And then I have to remind myself it will probably be a week tomorrow at the earliest 😦
It is so hard. I just miss nick and the kids like I never have before. Even with seeing them yesterday and today. I feel a million miles away. They are being so strong though…all 3 of them. I am very very proud of my family and how they are standing up to this horrible ordeal. I hope it’s a long time before I have to put them through it again.
So I suppose it’s time to finish this entry – my lovely tea will be here any minute. Heinz tomato soup yet again. All I can face to order each day but even then I don’t always manage to eat it!! Doubt I’ll ever eat it again once I’m out of here;-)

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 5 – The only way is up!

  1. feresaknit says:

    This could explain the complete lack of interest I now have in rice pudding which was my version of your tomato soup! ;D

    Like

  2. Sandy Banks says:

    Intending and praying for your numbers to begin climbing again so you are heading home again soon…. there are lots of other soups after you X tomato off the list!

    Like

  3. Yes the missing home and kids is awful. Luckily, we lived so close to the hospital, after Tim was over the roughest spot, I got home to see our daughter a few times during the day while he was at the cancer center.(He did it outpatient and we stayed in a condo 2 blocks from the hosp. They are not allowed to be left alone) Tim didn’t see her for 15 days and it was tough. It will all be over so soon though Deb. I know it feels so agonizingly slow right now, but you’re getting there.

    Like

What are you thinking?

