Day 6 – zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Gosh today is a day where I have felt totally wiped out. Counts are definitely at zero now.

I woke, as usual, at 4am, dozed on and off until 7am, had breakfast and a shower etc and then went back to bed from around 10am-12.30pm! Up for some tomato soup and half a yoghurt and then back to sleep for another 2 hours to be woken by a room full of consultants, nurses etc!!!

And they have definitely given me a reality check. Apparently I shouldn’t even begin to expect my figures to go up again until Friday at the earliest. And if they don’t go up until Saturday, not to be surprised. So my idea that perhaps if I am a miracle worker, they might start to go up tomorrow or Wednesday, is totally unrealistic and doomed to the depths of misery. Still, I suppose, it’s better to be told that outright, than to be given hope that it might happen earlier and then find each day depressing.

But the good news, was that he did say, that assuming I DON’T get an infection before then, that I could well be talking to them about going home a week today. I think that might mean the Tuesday or Wednesday, and that would be great. I can’t imagine having to spend another week here, but if it has to be, I suppose it has to be. I sort of knew it the more all of you have posted your experiences on fb and on here, but I had hoped I’d got it wrong.

Wow, just realised I’ve stayed awake for over an hour and a half….pretty good going for me, but time for another snooze now I think……!!

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 6 – zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  1. Scott Haigh says:

    You ate breakfast??? impressive…..

    Four days of zero neutrafils was my punishment so yeah, Friday is about right. My counts were 0.03, 0.25, and then 2.1 and they sent me home home on the 2.1 day. They started to give me the GCSF – the same one used at harvest time, helps the counts jump up.

    By the way, I had an infection of some kind whilst I was in Hospital, temperature was up and they gave me antibiotics in to my line plus paracetamol to keep the temp down. The nurses told me most people pick up something and its really no big deal as long as they treat it. I shouldn’t worry too much 🙂

    Like

  2. Sandy Banks says:

    Sleep ZZZZZZZZZZZZ is ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ healing ZZZZZZ…

    Like

  3. deliadunn says:

    Gosh, you are doing well, I can’t believe that they may be letting you out so soon. They held me for four weeks when I had my sct, then I was only home for a few days before going back in for another week. You don’t sound to have had too much sickness which must be a relief, and that was my problem, I was sick up to a dozen times a day! Did you smell of tinned tomatoes for a few days immediately after? I’m told I did, nice!
    Are your children coping ok with the separation? I’m sure your not finding it easy, but it sounds like it won’t be that long before you can get back to them.
    Anyway well done, hope things continue to run smoothly and that your levels have shown a significant decr4ease when you get your next lot of figures.
    I have my last lot of velcade (fourth injection in 8th cycle), on Thursday, I can’t wait, I seem to have been on it forever
    Take care, Delia x

    Like

  4. It is VERY common to get a fever when your stem cells start “setting up house” in your bone marrow and making blood cells. Over here, they call them engraftment fevers. Of course, just to be safe, they run all sorts of blood tests and treat with antibiotics but never find anything, unless you really have picked up something. Just didn’t want you to get too panicked if you got a temp. I rarely meet someone who didn’t.

    Like

What are you thinking?

