Day 11 – Up to 0.2!

So a bit of catching up today, and yesterday saw another slight rise of my white blood count to 0.2….yay!!!!

I know to most people these figures don’t mean much to you, but I can’t begin to explain all that I hold to them, and the effect they can have on your mind. They take my blood samples each morning at between 6.30am and 7am and send them off to the labs so that when those lovely (if a little lazy!) people bother to come in, they can tell me how I am doing each day. This determines things like whether I am allowed out of my room, whether I can shave my patchy head off (need certain level of platelets!) and how many other pumps of fluids I need to be given to keep my body in some state of equilibrium.

Anyway that increase to 0.2 yesterday remains a great increase, as eventually those increases should start to get bigger too. The only slightly downside was that my calcium had dropped quite significantly, my haemoglobin was 8.0 (the lowest level allowed for a woman not to have a blood transplant) and my platelets were also very low. Platelets aid the clotting process so it is crucial to keep an eye on these two things and the decision eventually was to give me a bag of blood. Oh yes, and the bag of fluid to help with the calcium and my constantly low potassium (partilally because I don’t really eat anymore!. Oh and of course the morphine pump!!! I wasn’t lonely last night, it’s fair to say!!

Because I knew they would be hooking the blood up quite early, we made the decision that whilst Nick would come down to see Auntie Liz and Uncle Fintan, that they wouldn’t come to see me. Whilst all these pumps etc are just second nature around me now, I do have random attacks of sickness etc, and the last thing I want from all of this, is for the kids to be scared of hospitals, or scared of what they are doing to me.  I was sad to have to say that to Nick, but I think he agreed, and even if he didn’t at the time, when he arrive at 5pm to being totally zonked out and unable to hold a conversation or keep my eyes open (for those of you who debate whether I can hold a conversation at the best of times!!!) lol!

Anyway, he stayed and read for a couple of hours until I woke up to say goodbye to (!) and we said goodbye in the hope of seeing each other again in the morning!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are you thinking?

