DAY 14 – 2 weeks in and still loving the ensuite (?)

Well all, after my 3am ramblings, I am now into the depths of normal time and thought I’d give you my daily update.

I woke up this morning (good news for most!) absolutely shattered after last nights escapades and so went straight back to sleep after the usual 6am observations, blood samples and then breakfast. I woke up at about 10.30 all excited about how my white blood count (WBC) would have gone double again, hopefully up to 1.6 and so I got up, showered, got myself ready in clothes where I could go for a walk around the hospital grounds. After all, even if my WBC only went up by 0.2 I would be above 1.0 and allowed out of my room.

Anyway, I wish I’d stayed in bed. When I asked for my results my WBC was still 0.8. Gutted. I truly thought she was taking the mick out of me when she first told me and then realised from her face that it was true! Now don’t get me wrong. It isn’t the end of the world. I have lots of other things to deal with anyway before they’ll let me out. But I had just wanted that figure to be out of the way, and things looking up. So what is left now before I’m allowed out;

1. WBC to be above 1.0

2. Neutrophils to be above 1.5

3. I have to come off my morphine pump (they have reduced it from 90 to 50 today and will take me off fully tomorrow and see if I can cope!!!

4. Need to stop being sick.

With regard to the sickness, I’m not sure at the moment, if it is linked to the sore throat, overtiredness, the treatment causing the sickness (don’t think so), or whether it has all become a bit pyschological with certain pills/ foods etc. I think with any illness there is a danger of the psychological taking over if you allow it to, so I am working hard to overcome fears about these things. And if all else fails, they’ll just have to send me home with a pile of sick bowls!

Right, Nick is coming along later to visit (:-)) any my sister may also pop in, so I’d better go and grab some sleep before I throw up on him (now there would be a first). Hopefully no more mid night rants either.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are you thinking?

