Day 20 – No real changes

Well a couple of days on and we’re doing ok though I wouldn’t say that things are moving along at a pace. From what lots of you have said to me though, perhaps that is to be expected….a lot have commented that I should expect it to take one to three months before I begin to feel like normal again….yuck! I just want to get going now….the idea of not driving, not looking after the kids properly etc is really hard.

So what do my days look like at the moment. Well they’re not particularly exciting I have to say. I tend to have a restless nights sleep (even with the sleeping tablets 😦 ) and then wake up around 7am ish. A bit of a doze then, but I’m normally up and showered by 8.30am and trying to psych myself up for breakfast…….urrrgghh, probably my least favourite meal of the day so far. Then it’s quite often back to bed by about 10am for an hour and a half or so, before getting up to try to devour some soup (yes still on the Heinz Tomato!) or a small sandwich. My appetite isn’t anywhere near as big as it was before, but it is improving day by day so that is good. I’m normally back in bed by about 1.30/ 2pm and have another couple of hours before getting up to help sort the kids out with tea etc. Not that I’ve done much until today when I actually made the cheese sauce!!! Result! Although Nick isn’t very pleased with me as I also put out a load of washing and bought 2 in while my sister was out. He thinks I have totally overdone it! But I feel pleased I have made some use of my time and feel like it is necessary to do bits in order to get recovered quickly. I know I have to be careful, but don’t feel that I haven’t been today…not yet anyway!! I’ve been banned from stripping the bed too!!

I find the hardest thing not having the patience to do stuff with the kids….I can’t even generally manage to sit with them for one whole meal. Now I know they’re not that fast at 4 and 6, but nonetheless it feels a bit ridiculous. I’m hoping that the coming days will see that change. They themselves have been fantastic. They don’t complain about me at all, and are very caring. Rebecca even says she quite likes my hair now (though she still doesn’t want her friends to see it!!!). On that note, I’ve attached a picture of the current style – no laughing please!!! I am one very proud mummy and hope that I’m not speaking too soon.

 

Tomorrow will be a quiet one. My sister is taking the kids out for the morning and maybe the afternoon, so I get the day to myself…..very boring I would imagine. Then in the evening, I think we will drive down to my other sister’s house by the hospital, as I have an appointment on Thursday morning to check that I am on the mend. I’m not sure doing 2 journeys on Thursday, as well as all the waiting around we normally have, is a sensible option for me…not yet anyway. I just hope all is going in the right direction – the last thing I would want would be to be kept in the hospital again. I don’t feel like that is the case, but you never quite know do you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 20 – No real changes

  1. It sounds like you’re doing ok, Debs. Please do take it easy. There’ll be plenty of time to “overdo” it when you’re better. I’m also impatient, so I totally understand the frustration of wanting to get going now you’re out of hospital, but this is recuperation time and you need it. Your family needs you to have it too. Be a good girl. LOL! And I expect to be reminded of it myself when I’m in your boat in a few weeks.

    As for the hair/face… I think you look absolutely gorgeous! Very sexy!
    I’m just writing up about my own hair loss and all that comes with it.

    Like

  2. You look great! I know I would look awful without hair and you don’t AT ALL. You should pace yourself but I think it’s good to move around. If you overdo it, your body will let you know.

    Like

What are you thinking?

