Day 24 – Positive Progression

Firstly, I think I owe lots of people an apology…..my last post apparently made lots of people sad reading it, which is never my intention. Then again, I have always said that my blog is a reminder for me of what I go through, what I think and how my journey through this new passage goes. So, sorry to all of you I made blub, and I hope it didn’t put you in a difficult situation (my sister had to go into her dentist just after having read it!!!)

Anyway, as I promised people, I have been pretty sensible the last two days, and the results have been pretty good really. The kids were out all of yesterday and so I just rested and slept. The only error I think I made was having a strawberry milkshake from McDonalds…..now don’t ask me why…I never have them – I hate the things. But for some reason I had a craving for one, so my lovely husband went all the way to town to get me one. But afterwards, it left me feeling sick, and worse, seems to have brought back my throat ulcers and set me back around a week!!! Gutting and I don’t really understand why. I was told to avoid takeaways, but we understood that to be more about the ‘reheating’ issue. I can’t quite see why a milkshake would cause an ulcer to worsen but there you go.

So then there was a second good nights sleep last night (oh how I love sleeping tablets) and I slept/ rested for most of the morning. But the best thing today, was that I haven’t had a sleep this afternoon. Yes, I’m shattered now, but only in how I would normally feel after a busy day. Now admittedly, you can’t say lazing around in bed is a busy day, so I’m nowhere near normal, but the idea of not needing sleeps twice a day, makes me happy 🙂

Most of the afternoon was spent with the kids doing jigsaws, colouring and just having a nice time. And what was really nice was that Nick went off shopping with Nick and left me with Rebecca….the first time I’ve been allowed responsiblity for the kids on my own! Well one of the kids! It was only an hour, but it was another step forward.

So then, a bit of tea, bathtime for the little ones, and then watching the rugby before I’m about to go to bed….you can’t say that’s bad for one week out of hospital…..well I can’t anyway. We’ll see how tomorrow goes!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 24 – Positive Progression

  1. There is probably NOTHING natural in a McD’s milkshake… suggestion: if you are craving such a drink, make it all natural milk, ice cream and fresh strawberries (or other seasonal fruit). Oops, I just realized that fresh things may be off the list of approved foods, but perhaps you could do frozen ones? Intending that you are feeling better and better as every day passes.

    Like

What are you thinking?

