Day 29 – Bit of a break :-)

Well 29 days after I got my stem cells back, and my consultant has given me 3 weeks till I have to go back for my next appointment. Great news as the journey is a real chore at nearly 1.5 hours each way. Hopefully next time I will be well enough to drive myself so that Nick doesn’t have to take the day off work.

Gareth (my consultant) has also told me he’d like me to start weaning myself off the drugs that I’m on. That in itself is good news as it proves I’m doing well….he’s keen as he says that once I’m off all the drugs, I’ll feel ‘normal’ again and that  a period of normality is good for anyone post transplant. So I’m starting with the anti-emetics, followed by the others. I’m a bit nervous as I got home today and was promptly sick. I think that was because I ate a really rich yoghurt and that perhaps it was too much to eat when I’m not used to a rich diet at the moment, but when you’ve just been told to cut out the anti sickness tablets, it’s a bit scary! I’m also nervous about coming off the neuropathy drugs so will leave those till last I think and then see what happens. I forgot to get referred with that today anyway, so we’ll see how the next 3 weeks go.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Bit too tired to write much else but feeling positive that 2 weeks after hospital, I had a good day despite having to do 3 hours in the car.

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 29 – Bit of a break :-)

  1. feresaknit says:

    See if you could knit you’d love spending three hours in the car. ;D Oh and great news – apart from the upchucking.

    Like

What are you thinking?

