Day 37 – Keeping Positive with loads of love!

I’m feeling pretty positive at the moment after a couple of good days and lots of good family and friend support! So I thought I should write a blog entry that wasn’t depressing and miserable for me and for everyone else.

The day after I last wrote the children got back from their grandparents house. They had had a lovely time and while they were there, one of my sisters had popped round (she lives in the Midlands too) with a beautiful box for me. Now she had mentioned that my 22 year old niece had wanted to give me a little something, but what she had omitted to say was just how special this little something was going to be. I opened the box and sitting on the top was a photo album. As I opened the first pages, I burst into tears and knew I couldn’t open it in front of Nick’s parents so it waited until the kids went to bed….they’d already asked if I was crying because I was happy or because I was sad?!

So when I opened it later I got to look closer. In the box were so many lovely things from my family. An amazon voucher, nail varnish, pampering creams etc, a dvd, chocolates, a gorgeous mug and lots of lovely teas and hot chocolates. But the most secial was what my lovely niece and sister had arranged. They had got each of my 4 brother and sisters, my parents, and some of my nieces to write a special message to me about the journey that we are all going through together. Blub, oh how did I blub…..but in a good way…..in a very special, ‘I feel loved and cared for’ way. It is so the sort of thing I love, so me, and they got it. They know me so very well. I love them so so much.

Yesterday was a good day. Maybe the box helped to push me into being more positive. One of my NCT friends came over with her son. She was only going to come for a quick coffee, but ended up staying for nearly 3  hours and it was just lovely. Her son was a gem on his DS lite which meant we could just natter for ages and catch up on so much…and it didn’t seem like she was here for long at all – just how you want it to be. In the end I made us all lunch (another good thing!) and then we went for a short walk up the lane. All so good for the soul and so good for my recovery I feel.

I was pretty tired at the end of that so had a dose for a couple of hours while I waited for the kiddies to get back with another great friend…my next door neighbour. She has only lived there for a year and I just don’t know what we would do without her. She is so generous with her time and for someone we have only just met (in the grand scheme of things) she is so willing to do anything for us or the kids. Considering she is 6 months pregnant with her 3rd, she really is some kind of superwoman! I just hope that when she needs some help in November, I will be well enough to step in and make up for all the help and support she has given us. Anyway, I managed to oversleep them getting back, but eventually got over there for a cuppa with them before bedtime. A busy day, but one that just made me feel pretty good.

And today has followed suit. The kids went off mid-morning with another lovely friend of Sam’s….another person who has stood by their promises to help and has just been great. I was pretty shattered as I’d been up since 8.30 (early for me, late in most people’s books I know!) so I dozed on the sofa until about 12.30 when I forced myself up to have some lunch before I was due at a friends for my now daily cuppa! I drove over there and spent a couple of hours catching up with her which was great. I think just getting out and being at other people’s houses is so helpful at the moment…it stops me from feeling like all I’m doing is slobbing around the house. Next stop is actually doing practical stuff rather than ‘nice to do’ stuff. But I am worried about pushing that too hard. I left hers at about 3.30 with the plan of going home for a sleep, but fantastically, I didn’t feel too tired when I got back so  instead of wasting my day, I got to skype my sister in Beijing and then do a bit of organisation of online photos. It really doesn’t sound like much, but I have found it hard to concentrate on anything since I went into hospital, so concentrating on the photo’s was another step forward for me. And actually it’s a lovely thing to go over all the lovely things we’ve done since I was diagnosed….despite it being a hard time, we’ve had some good friend with lovely friends and lovely family. The photos are such a good way of remembering that times haven’t always been tough, and won’t always be tough once we get past this patch.

And tonight, when Sam and Rebecca got home, the parents of Sam’s friend came in for a drink. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel or cope with it as sometimes tiredness just comes over me at that time of night, but actually it was really, really nice. I felt like life was normal. I cooked meatballs for dinner and managed to make the whole meal without having to pass it over to Nick. I feel like things are falling back into place. I feel good. I hope this continues as we have a busy weekend ahead with a visit to my parents on Sunday, and Sam’s birthday on Monday….we just have to hope I’m not in bits by Tuesday!

So life is good at the moment. Really good. (And we’ll save the boring neuropathy talk for another more depressing day!!)

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 37 – Keeping Positive with loads of love!

  1. Still intending day by day you are feeling better and better, and you are, aren’t you? Great news!

    Like

What are you thinking?

