Day 50 – Hospital Update

So today I went back to see my consultant and check that all was going well. And the good news is that, after 3 hours waiting for my bloods to get back, things are still going in the right direction. Well I presume they are. They just told me that they were fine and to go home!

I had a good conversation with the Professor today though and he confirmed that the tiredness was normal and not to worry…not that I was worried as such, but more wanting confirmation that I wasn’t sleeping TOO much. But it sounds like the normal 1.5 – 2 hours extra I get most days, isn’t as much as perhaps I should and so I need one or two days where I play catch up. That should get easier as time goes on….I hope so!! I slept till 9.30 today at my sister (the one who lives close to the hospital) but am exhausted now having not had a sleep all day. Bed at 9pm tonight me thinks!

I can see differences now though…and I’m trying to make myself think back and make comparisons to things I was doing a couple of weeks back. It helps me to understand how I am progressing. We went to the Cookham Regatta on Saturday. It is one of Nick’s work do’s where they part sponsor the event, and so the company puts up a tent, and provides employees and families with food and drink. It is always a lovely day, and there are loads of stalls, bouncy castles, climbing walls (no I didn’t!) etc and so I had really wanted to go despite having had a sleepy week. And we went for about 4 hours and had a lovely day. Yes,  I was tired that evening and the next day, but not like I had been after I had my shopping spree (for those of you who remember that disaster!) – I just knew I needed to be a bit more rested. I even went to church with the kids the next day….another earliesh start!!

This week has seen the kiddies finally go back to school 🙂 I hope that some routine might help me in my recouperation, and I know that they will do well to be back into some discipline!!

Not that they are badly disciplined…as I have said before, I’m pretty proud of their behaviour most of this summer! Apparently Rebecca had to write about herself today and one of the things she had to say was what she’d liked most about the holidays. The little love said ‘ Being at home’……considering how many treats she had received this holiday, and how many fab places she had been to, it meant a lot that she loved just being with us. And I hope that it suggests that it hasn’t spoilt her having all those things, that she still values the important things in her life, like our family. And I hope that we can take some of the credit for that…we have tried really hard to make our time together special over the summer, as difficult as that has been at times with my tiredness. I am so pleased she loves her home.

Anyway, this weekend will be another busy one. We have a school event tomorrow night, kids invited (!), followed by Sam’s birthday party on Saturday morning, and the village fete in the afternoon!!! Busy, busy, busy!! So Sunday is booked out for sleep!!!!!!!

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 50 – Hospital Update

  1. Such cuties those two are and I am sure that the routine of school will help a lot in getting the rest you need and being more available to them when they get home… intending so!

    Like

What are you thinking?

