One year anniversary

Happy anniversary to me! I can’t quite believe that this time a year ago, I was sat in my hotel room having had a huge dose of chemo. It seems so so long ago, yet within days of it, I couldn’t imagine the life that I’m living today. And thank god for stem cell transplants, as without them, I couldn’t have had that high dose, and the whole process of treatment would have been even longer and even harder. So tomorrow is my birthday….well the date of my stem cells being given back to me. And the start of my long road to recovery.

And a year down the line I feel like I’m doing so so well. Still in remission and probably at 95% of how I was before diagnosis! Not bad going really. In some ways, I’m even better. I’m no longer allergic to animals and I don’t have my eczema which I’d had since childhood!!! There have to be some bonuses hey…not that I’d recommend a stem cell transplant and chemo.

Anyway, I didn’t want to go on today, but I did want to acknowledge the people who have got me through this last year. Nick – cliched as it is, he has been my rock and my best friend. He looks after me all the time and has my best interest at heart. And he forgives me when I do too much and get ill again. Our kids have just been amazing. They don’t know it yet but their tenacity throughout this year has been amazing and I am so so proud of them both. If they ever read this when they are older I hope they will realise how amazing they have been. I wish we didn’t have to put them through my illness but they are learning to cope with the situation fantastically. Then there is my family who I love do much it is untrue. They are always there for both Nick and me and again have been there, all the time. And last but not least, I am so grateful to my friends. Old and new, I have had so much support from them. It is hard when you realise some people just don’t get you any more, but for those I have drifted away from, I have become closer to others.

Anyway, end of speech!! I can’t write more as I’m doing this on my phone and my wrist is starting to hurt!

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

