Happy Birthday dear stem cells!

I know that I probably do this post every year, but every year I am even more pleased to reach another ‘stem cell’ birthday.

4 years ago today, I was given back my stem cells at the Marsden in Surrey. I remember it far too well, especially the fact I promptly threw up as they pumped them back in to me! But despite the fact that it was a horrible experience, and 6 months of my life that I would happily forget, I can’t forget the fact that it has put me into a remission that has lasted far longer than I could have ever asked for.

I was talking about my remission just a couple of days ago with another myeloma friend. She had her transplant a couple of years after me and is slowly seeing her figures creeping upwards. That time that none of us want to hear about. But, and this will sound strange to anyone who hasn’t gone through treatment, she can’t wait to start again because it means she will get to have revlimid as a maintenance therapy afterwards. And I totally get that. I totally believe that my revlimid is what has kept me in remission for the last four years. It is why I used to get nervous if they ever talked about stopping it. Now it all may be in my head. But I don’t think so. And even if it is, who cares if it keeps me positive 🙂

I also reached the 6 year marker of diagnosis on Friday….I can’t believe it really. I continue to feel very blessed that I am doing so well and that I have had access to the right treatment for me….and that my fears all of those years ago have been proven wrong. Long may it last.

2 Comments

Filed under general, Myeloma, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy Birthday dear stem cells!

  1. karenbakingmad

    I was diagnosed last feb/march and started Velcade/dex this March two more cycles then due to have stem cell at Barts in October. I’m getting through with a positive attitude. I must admit the stem cell transplant and the not knowing what to expect is driving me crazy – a calm swan coping really well to everyone else but inside I’m paddling frantically! Deb your posts really help it’s hard sometimes when no one knows how you feel and you are too worried about their feelings to talk about yours!

    Like

    • Aw you’ll be fine Karen. Don’t expect much at all and it’ll all be ok!! Take one day at a time and look forward, not backwards. You are always welcome to get in touch if you want to chat with someone who gets it? X

      Like

What are you thinking?

