Another goodbye…..

I’m writing this feeling really numb. I heard the news this morning that one of my really good myeloma friends passed away last night. She was only 50 and I met her in the early days of my diagnosis, 6 years ago. She taught me that my diagnosis didn’t have to get in the way of life, and not only did she say that to me, but she proved it to me in the way that she led her life. She was the most amazing mum, wife and friend and even near to the end, to those of us who saw her, she kept smiling and kept inspiring.

Those of you who read my blog will know that I have to write posts like this far too often for my liking…I have always said that it is the worst thing about making friends who can support us through with their own experiences of myeloma. At some stage we end up saying goodbye to them. But I wouldn’t give it up. Her friendship meant the world to me….I just wish I had told her and made sure that she knew. The tears come yet again as Nick and I realise quite how lucky we have been to date.

I will miss my friend dearly. I saw her and her husband not too long ago. I think that perhaps they knew what was coming more than I wanted to admit to myself. I can’t do much, and it is too late for the research to help her and her beautiful¬†family, but I will be thinking what I can now do to remember her. With love, tears and much sadness………

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another goodbye…..

  1. vulcan605 says:

    Deb, sorry to hear about friend, I’ve just lost a lovely man I had known for years, I seem to remember I interviewed him for his job many years ago. He was diagnosed some 10 years ago, and had a very bad time. He finally ran out of options a few months ago, and died a couple of weeks ago. He was the sort of person who when we met at the clinic, my daughter would say ” he’s so upbeat, and seems more worried about you than himself” I did finally go to see him in hospital, it was difficult as it like looking into the future, but I am glad I did. I will miss him for his kindness and positivity. It’s difficult to come to terms with the way money is spent when drugs are needed and aren’t affordable we are told. As you said, it certainly makes me appreciate my good luck or whatever it is that has let me survive this long. Best wishes, Jeff

    Like

  2. alexbicknell says:

    Debs, I’m sure she knew.
    It’s shocking, dreadful news. But I, like you, would far rather face this with you all as my friends – no matter what that may entail – than try to do it alone.

    Like

What are you thinking?

