Thank god for friends and family!

So I had my 4 week appointment on Tuesday at the Fracture clinic. I had been hoping that as my foot felt a little better, that he’d tell me it was healing well and a couple more weeks and I’d be out and about.

Sadly that wasn’t to be and he has told me that I need to keep my boot on for another 6 weeks! Absolutely galling and very frustrating given it is my right foot and I can’t drive at the moment. That said, he did also say that I could drive as soon as I felt safe so I think I’ll go out at the weekend and try it with Nick….even if I only do the school run each day, and don’t drive other than that, at least then I’m not constantly asking for favours!

I think what was more frustrating was the information that it was a borderline Jones fracture. Apparently, according to a friend of mine, if you have a Jones fracture, it doesn’t heal properly without surgery. Now, the consultant said that he wants to see if my foot will heal without the surgery first, but I have to say that I’ll  be more than frustrated if, after 10 weeks of not driving/ being in a boot, I then have to have surgery that puts me out of action for another 3 months! Especially since we will be moving house around this time! That said, I suppose if it heals in the next few weeks and I avoid surgery altogether that will be well worth having to learn the skill of patience!

I just want to take this opportunity to say how lucky I am to have Nick though…he has been so good about it all when I think if the boot was on the other foot (hmmm, there is some awful pun there!), that I would struggle to be as patient and kind. He’s had to drive everywhere, take the kids to things that I would normally do, and generally be a bit of a star! As always, it reminds me of how lucky I am to have found, loved and married him! I also owe a big thank you to my new friends, and my family up in the Midlands. They have been amazing at helping, taking me out for coffee’s and making me feel better about the frustrations that are playing out. And more than that, they have done all the school runs for the kids which has saved us an absolute fortune on taxi costs! Their offers of help have meant the kids have been able to keep doing some of their clubs etc….I can promise you, my foot affects them almost as much as me.

Anyway, off to the hospital for my monthly myeloma check up….crossed fingers it will be better news than on Tuesday!

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank god for friends and family!

  1. cpbg2016 says:

    My wife was put on Zometa sometime between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. Initially monthly and then in March 2015 quarterly. Seems to help control the myeloma. We understood that it was fairly benign and merely strengthened the bones.
    Sometime around 1999, my wife had a couple of implants, rear upper jaw.
    Then about the middle of 2015, my wife started to feel pain in her jaw. Dentist did a ‘deep clean’ and referred her to a dental hospital. Long delays but we have time and why rush!
    By mid January 2016, the pain was severe, so much so that my wife made an emergency appointment with the dentist. The dentist saw that there was considerable infection and that the implants would need to be removed. They were, together with a chunk of jaw-bone and much pus and blood. The dentist drove my wife back to our home (!!!!!) and then we went to A+E.
    The jaw-bone had become necrotic; something like a bit of rotten wood on a tree. Part of the tree can be firm and living but part crumbles away. We did not know that Zometa behaves like a bisphosphonate. Neither had my wife told the dentist that she was on Zometa infusions although she may have said it was a calcium infusion.
    There is now a hole between her mouth and her sinus. The dental hospital will now undertake a general anesthetic operation to clean up the site, remove any other loose teeth where infection can linger/develop and close up the hole.
    So be careful if you have implants before myeloma! What actually happens is that the Zometa infuses the bone and stifles the small blood channels throughout the bone. This then becomes infected, particularly in the mouth, and the rest is history.
    UK dentists were circularised about bisphosphonates in 2014/5. It is a recently discovered problem. It also applies to people being treated for osteoporosis!!!
    Ouch! Peter

    Like

What are you thinking?

