Fundraising festivities

I’m off again…fundraising is continuing in aid of Myeloma UK..so apologies upfront to my Facebook and twitter friends as you all know what is coming….. However, while I apologise, it is only really a half-hearted apology as I could never have achieved what I have done to date without my constant barrage on social media…and the help you have all given me.

Having been in the Midlands for just over a year now, I’ve decided that the time is right to get going on my final push towards reaching a fundraising total of £100,000 for Myeloma UK. Originally I had wanted to do this by the end of this year, but events have meant that this hasn’t been feasible. So now, I plan to do it by the middle of 2017!

I’m starting fairly small. Just a coffee morning in our local church hall in Belbroughton this coming Friday (18th Nov). It’s where the children are/were at school and where most of my newer friends are based. I’ve been pretty chuffed with the response I’ve had, especially to a couple of village emails that have been sent out. Not only have I had people I don’t know offering cakes and books (for the secondhand book and toy sale), but as a result of the cake sale, one lady I didn’t even know before, has offered to get her husbands business involved in fundraising for Myeloma UK. Apparently she googled me when she got the email, read my blog and decided she wanted to help! So we now have between 4 and 6 people signing up to the Myeloma UK London to Paris cycle ride that takes place in May 2017! All of which I see as contributing to my £10k aim! In addition to this, my sister is holding a ball this coming weekend…all great news!

I’m also finalising plans for a top notch Wine and pairing event called ‘The Perfect Pair‘ ,with an auction. The date is now settled for the 22nd April and I’m just getting some artwork drawn up and then I can start selling tickets. We want to make it quite high brow and so tickets will be £45 each if bought before the end of February, or £47.50 each if bought after then, and it will be for tables of 10. Anyone who went to the ball will know that I won’t want a small event, and will be aiming to make it as special as possible. I’m hoping that we will have some live music while people are tasting, some amazing prizes to be won and obviously, great wine (courtesy of Nickolls & Perks) and great food. The venue is kindly being donated by Hogarths Stone Manor. If you want to know when the tickets go live, please email me at theperfectpair2017@gmail.com and I’ll let you know.

If anyone out there is inspired to help me with this, I’m going to be in need of the following support;

  • Auction prizes – I’ll need some high end lots such as theatre tickets, hotel rooms, holiday weeks, restaurant prizes. However, I will also be doing a silent auction at the event so can hopefully put together smaller prizes to make some alternative lots. Any offers will be gratefully received, so please don’t be shy at coming forward. At the ball, even donations of nice jams and biscuits were put together to make an amazing hamper!
  • Printing – I’m going to need to do some printing as I’ll definitely need a programme for the night (listing all the lots and thanking sponsors). It would also be great to have the option of getting a couple of pull-up posters made. And we may need a few flyers if I can’t sell all the tickets myself. We will probably be also looking at getting things like order forms for guests too. If anyone can offer a discounted price, or ideally something in return for a full page advert in the programme, I’d be really grateful!
  • A Team – Much of the work will be kindly done by Hogarths and Tim at Nickolls & Perks who are sponsoring the event. However, there is always lots that goes on behind the scene and what made the Glitz and Glamour Ball the success that it was, was that I had a fantastic team working with me to help make sure I made the right decisions along the way. So if anyone would like to help me, who is local enough to meet up once a month, please feel free to get in touch!
  • Probably much more! That I haven’t even thought of yet!

If you aren’t able to support or attend but would still like to make a donation, that would be great too and you can do that by going to my just giving page.

And the good news…..if we can reach the fundraising target by the end of The Perfect Pair, I won’t have to pester you for any more major fundraising….for some time anyway!

Leave a comment

Filed under general

What are you thinking?

