Shouldn’t be surprised…..

So this time while I sit in hospital, pondering what my bloods will be for another month, I thought I’d write about something that might actually help someone.

It all stems from us visiting Australia over Christmas and if you’ve ever suffered from dry skin, you might want to keep reading.

Personally, I’ve had eczema since I was a baby. It has never been horrendous, but it’s been pretty bad with fingers cracking and generally a dry skin issue. My skin is constantly dry unless I use moisturiser – which I’m too busy (for busy, read ‘lazy’!) and my head has been itchy for the last couple of years. It basically makes me feel pretty scummy and not particularly attractive at the best of times.

I had my first shock when I had my stem cell transplant. My eczema pretty much cleared up! And that was nearly 6 years ago! I don’t ever have a big reaction now, and don’t tend to suffer from allergies in anywhere near the same way. Now don’t get me wrong…I won’t be recommending a transplant as a cure for eczema, but it did totally surprise me. I can even wear earrings again which was a big ‘no, no’ before as I would always react.

Despite that, I continued to have the dry, slightly flaky skin (ummm, nice!), the itchy head and the generally not nice feeling about myself. Until we went to Australia. While were out there we were staying in AirBNB properties, most of which had septic tanks. Any of you who know about these (!), might be aware that you have to be very careful what you put into them. So all of the properties we stayed at provided all the usual toiletries, cleaning materials etc that you would expect in an AirBNB house…with the slight difference that they were always organic, and always without Parabens and without soap (along with a few other things that I can’t remember!). Any my head stopped itching so much, and my skin became less dry!

So when I got home, I thought I’d try it out to see whether it was the products or whether it was the water/ environment out there. I’ve been using a Forever living shampoo and conditioner for the last couple of days (Thanks Katie! And if anyone wants some let me know) that whilst I don’t think is organic, doesn’t have parabens or sulphates in it. And already my head has stopped itching so much! I’ve also grabbed a shower gel from a health shop and found that whilst my skin isn’t beautifully silky and smooth, it definitely doesn’t have a permanent dryness now!

So, I’m still in a slight transition phase and am still trying to make sure it isn’t just a fluke, but actually, it can’t do any harm to knock out all these chemicals, especially since I’ve been saying for years, that they must be contributing to all the conditions that are now out there. It’s not a totally easy decision as the products costs substantially more than what I used to buy for us. However, if it does the job, then it is probably worth the extra pennies. I’m going to try my son next as he has dry skin – it’ll be interesting to see how it helps his skin, if at all.

Anyway, I’d be interested to hear if anyone else, post transplant, or just in life in general, has experienced anything similar, and also whether if so, they have any products they would particularly recommend?

 

 

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two and a person in my own right :-) I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-)
This entry was posted in general, illness, Myeloma and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shouldn’t be surprised…..

  1. alexbicknell says:

    Hey Deb,

    Two thoughts on this…

    1) After my SCT my allergies/ rhinitis and, more excitingly, my extreme reaction to insect bites (not dangerous, just ridiculously itchy) both disappeared. They’re coming back, with time, but are way less than before. I used to get eaten alive my mosquitoes. Now, its annoying but not so bad. I used to get head-blocking winter sinusitis, but its been so much better. I can only assume all these problems are caused by overactive immune system and SCT knocks that out. But I agree that SCT is a pretty extreme way to solve these problems!

    2) Marisa used to get really bad skin rashes on holiday. We thought it was prickly heat. Used to drive her mad. Someone suggested it might be allergy to parabens in sun cream. Sure enough, problem solved.

    Some of these chemicals in skin products are really horrid. I had years of problems with rashes (I’ll spare you the full description) that turned out to be a reaction to aluminium in antipersperants…

    Here’s hoping your problem is solved!

    Like

What are you thinking?

