Loch Ness Etape 2024

Well, after a turbulent month, I am delighted to say that Nick and I completed the 66 miles (100km) around the Loch Ness by completing the Loch Ness Etape alongside 6,000 other riders!

I’m not going to lie. It was NOT as easy as I thought it would be. It was definitely hillier than I was led to believe and the 5 mile hill stretch (called King of the Mountain) was not any easier than I’d been told….it was a total killer. To the point that I had to get off just before the top of the first hill and walk – gutted! But I am so proud of Nick who completed it without stopping – he has become such a strong cyclist in the last 4 months and whilst he might not admit it to most, has even started to like what cycling brings to his/ our life!

We did the whole event in 5 hours and 19 minutes which we’re both pretty proud of. It’s been a turbulent year for a number of reasons, and training definitely wasn’t as easy to fit in as we’d hoped with me being regularly poorly, rubbish weather (cold, wind AND rain) and work getting in the way. Just as importantly, we have raised to date, £1,800 towards my #QuarterofaMillion for Myeloma UK which we’re really proud of – if you have sponsored us, thank you so much! I know I’m always asking for help, but it makes such a difference and we do appreciate every donation that is made. If you haven’t sponsored yet, it’s not too late if you click here and honestly, we don’t mind if it’s only a couple of pounds. It all adds up!

What I’m really pleased about though is like I said, Nick has decided that he’d like to keep doing some of the cycling. It’s all about a balance, but I think he realises that we’re not getting any younger and that we need to be a bit fitter. And while I continue to link the cycling to whisky tours (next stop Japan??), I seem to be manipulating persuading him quite well 🤪.j

We’ve got a couple more days to enjoy Scotland and it is a much needed break for both of us now that the ride is complete. There are a few distilleries booked in for Nick and I’m hoping to maybe get out on the bike one more time up here if I can find a nice flat route in Scotland ;-).

Then it’s back to face into the reality of work and all that entails.

Thank you again to everyone for your support – it means the world!

About Deb Gascoyne

I am wife of one, mother of two (& a dog!) and a person in my own right😊. I have used my diagnosis of myeloma to allow me to focus on what I CAN achieve and not what I can't. My blog is a way of me spilling out....it is for me more than you I'm afraid. But if it helps you along the way, that is an absolute bonus for me :-) Diagnosed in 2009 with smouldering myeloma, I started treatment in 2010 and had a SCT in 2011. I’ve was on maintenance until November 2018 but my figures went up so officially relapsed. I have been on dara since 2019 and had my second transplant in September 2020. Still on dara and keeping fingers crossed.
This entry was posted in general, Myeloma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?